

Emergency Medicine Residents' Association

EMRA Honors Charlotte Wills, MD

IRVING, Texas - The Emergency Medicine Residents' Association has named Charlotte Wills, MD, of Alameda Health System Highland Hospital as its 2019 Residency Director of the Year.

Nominated by their own residents, the EMRA Residency Directors of the Year are role models - not only as clinicians but also as educators, researchers, and mentors in life. The award is ultra-competitive, as residents from across the country advocate for their program directors.

In nominating Dr. Wills, chief residents Kevin Gardner, MD, Ashley Rider, MD, and Erica Valdovinos, MD, said they could not imagine anyone more deserving of the honor.

"She models respect for all members of the team and compassionate, thoughtful care for her patients," the chief residents wrote. "We are so grateful for Dr. Wills' unflappable leadership, generosity, and dedication."

Diversity, wellness, scholarship, and clinical proficiency are hallmarks of the program under Dr. Wills, they said, as well as a unique approach to democracy within the team.

EMRA President Hannah Hughes, MD, MBA, said the association takes pride in honoring those who are building the future of the specialty.

"Being a recipient of an EMRA award means you went above and beyond the call of duty," Dr. Hughes said. "This is our way of saying thanks. Thanks for being committed to EM physicians-in-training, for being someone we should all want to emulate."

-more-

While this award was announced in Spring 2019, Dr. Wills was honored along with other EMRA award recipients during EMRA's 45th Anniversary celebration, held in conjunction with ACEP Scientific Assembly in Denver.

Board of Directors

Hannah Hughes, MD, MBA President Omar Z. Maniya, MD, MBA Immediate Past-President RJ Sontag, MD President-Elect Karina Sanchez, MD Speaker of the Council Tracy Marko, MD, PhD, MS Vice Speaker of the Council Priyanka Lauber, DO Secretary/EM Resident Editor Erik Blutinger, MD, MSc ACEP Representative Deena Khamees, MD Director of Education Breanne Jaqua, DO ACGME RC-EM Representative Nick Salerno, MD Director of Technology Angela Cai, MD, MBA Director of Health Policy Gregory Tanquary, DO, MBA Director of Membership Venkat Subramanyam, MD Ex-Officio Board Member Sophia Spadafore, MD EMRA Representative to AMA Corey McNeilly, MA, MSIV Medical Student Council Chair

Executive Director Cathey B. Wise, CAE



Emergency Medicine Residents' Association

EMRA Spring 2020 awards nominations open on Dec. 1, 2019, with a deadline of Jan. 1, 2020.

###

About EMRA

The Emergency Medicine Residents' Association is the voice of emergency medicine physicians-in-training and the future of our specialty. Founded Nov. 6, 1974, EMRA has become the oldest and largest resident-driven organization in the world.