

Nov. 6, 2019

EMRA Celebrates Diverse Board of Directors

IRVING, Texas - The Emergency Medicine Residents' Association recently elected the most diverse Board of Directors in the organization's 45-year history, setting a new bar for inclusion in medicine.

During its fall meeting in late October, the EMRA Representative Council elected 5 physicians to its board and marked the passing of the gavel from **Immediate Past President Omar Maniya**, MD, MBA, to **President Hannah Hughes**, MD, MBA.

The elections reflect a wide diversity in gender, race, orientation, professional background, and practice goals. In that diversity there is strength, said EMRA Executive Director Cathey B. Wise, CAE.

"We want everyone to find a home in EMRA," Ms. Wise said. "Inclusiveness and diversity are also hallmarks of our new president's leadership. Dr. Hughes's commitment to diversity and inclusion will help ensure better discussions, fuller understanding of the issues our members face, and well-thought-out decisions that will lead to a stronger EMRA."

Newly elected board members include:

- President-Elect RJ Sontag, MD, of UT Health San Antonio;
- Secretary/EM Resident Editor Priyanka Lauber, DO, of Lehigh Valley Health Network;
- Vice Speaker of the Council Tracy Marko, MD, PhD, MS, of Health Partners Institute, Regions Hospital;
- **Director of Education Deena Khamees**, MD, of the University of Michigan;
- **Director of Technology Nicholas Salerno**, MD, of Louisiana State University (serving his second term on the EMRA Board).

-more-

Hannah Hughes, MD, MBA President Omar Z. Maniya, MD, MBA Immediate Past-President RJ Sontag, MD President-Elect Karina Sanchez, MD Speaker of the Council Tracy Marko, MD, PhD, MS Vice Speaker of the Council Priyanka Lauber, DO Secretary/EM Resident Editor Erik Blutinger, MD, MSc ACEP Representative Deena Khamees, MD Director of Education Breanne Jaqua, DO ACGME RC-EM Representative Nick Salerno, MD Director of Technology Angela Cai, MD, MBA Director of Health Policy Gregory Tanquary, DO, MBA Director of Membership Venkat Subramanyam, MD Ex-Officio Board Member Sophia Spadafore, MD EMRA Representative to AMA Corey McNeilly, MA, MSIV Medical Student Council Chair

Executive Director Cathey B. Wise, CAE



Emergency Medicine Residents' Association

"Being an EMRA leader is more than just having a title or adding a line item to your CV," Dr. Hughes said. "It means taking action on whatever it is you're passionate about. EMRA leaders get things done!

"While we all have different interests, we are united by one common goal: to make the future of emergency medicine better," she added.

The newly elected EMRA Board members join their colleagues:

- Speaker of the Council Karina Sanchez, MD, of Conemaugh Memorial Medical Center;
- **Resident Representative to ACEP Erik Blutinger**, MD, MSc, of The Mount Sinai Hospital;
- **Director of Health Policy Angela Cai**, MD, MBA, of Kings County Hospital/SUNY Downstate;
- **Director of Membership Greg Tanquary**, DO, MBA, of Doctors Hospital/Ohio Health;
- **Ex-Officio Member Venkat Subramaniyam,** MD, of the University of Connecticut;
- ACGME RC-EM Liaison Breanne Jaqua, DO, MPH, of Mercy St. Vincent Medical Center;
- EMRA Representative to the AMA Sophia Spadafore, MD, of Mount Sinai School of Medicine New York;
- Medical Student Council Chair Corey McNeilly, MA, of UT School of Medicine San Antonio.

###

About EMRA

The Emergency Medicine Residents' Association is the voice of emergency medicine physicians-in-training and the future of our specialty. Founded Nov. 6, 1974, EMRA has become the oldest and largest resident-driven organization in the world, representing more than 16,000 emergency medicine residents, alumni, and medical students hoping to match into the specialty.