

Emergency Medicine Residents' Association

April 30, 2025

Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 401 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 2000 Chicago, IL 60611

Subject: Proposed Changes to ACGME Requirements for GME in EM

Dear ACGME Board of Directors,

The Emergency Medicine Residents' Association (EMRA) is an independent, resident-governed professional organization that serves as the voice of emergency physicians-in-training and the future of the specialty. We represent 18,000+ members, including more than 90% of current emergency medicine residents.

We urge the withdrawal of the proposed program requirements from consideration and the reintroduction of a subsequent, evidence-based proposal that would allow for the continued accreditation of both 3- and 4-year programs. When it comes to length of training, our members are clear: We can strengthen emergency medicine training without mandating a 4-year model.

We ask that you consider the following while making your decision:

- **There is no evidence** to support mandating four years, nor is there evidence that this change would improve EM residents' training or patient outcomes.
- The proposed requirements do not align with the ACGME's push for **competency-based medical education**.
- One size does not fit all. EM is unique in that there are multiple pathways to
 the same destination, and that flexibility should not be eliminated for the sake
 of uniformity alone.
- The house of medicine needs a strong ACGME that upholds its commitment to evidence-based decision-making and transparency.

EMRA recognizes the value of choice in emergency medicine residency training formats and urges the continued accreditation of three- and four-year formats. EMRA has publicly posted our comments to the ACGME's proposed EM program requirements, which include a suggested alternative structure. (*Please see EMRA's detailed responses here.*)

We appreciate your careful consideration of our concerns and requests as you review the proposed changes to our training. We recognize our shared goal of making emergency medicine the best specialty it can be, and we welcome further conversations and collaboration with you.

With respect,

President Blake R. Denley, MD Immediate Past-President Pauline Wiltz, DO President-Elect Morgan Sweere, MD, MPH Secretary/EM Resident Editor Jacob Altholz, MD Speaker of the Council lan Brodka, MD Vice Speaker of the Council Kelsey Morgan, MD EMRA Representative to ACEP Joe-Ann Moser, MD, MS Director of Education Katarina Jones, MD, MPH Director of Health Policy Grace Bunemann, DO

Director of Leadership Development

Anna Heffron, MD, PhD

EMRA Representative

Board of Directors

David Wilson, MD

Zoee Castro Medical Student Council Chair

to AMA

Executive Director Kris Williams, CAE