Award Winners, ACEP Scientific Assembly

Honoring Our Fall 2016 Award Winners

Congratulations to the recipients of EMRA's fall 2016 awards – and thank you to everyone who participates in the process. Your accomplishments reflect the strength of emergency medicine!

Travel Scholarships

EMRA ACEP16 Scholars

Abena Obenewaa Akomeah, MD, Carolinas Medical Center

Michael Butterfield, MD, Tampa General Hospital

Ms. Michelle Lynch, University of Virginia

Daniel McCabe, MD, John H. Stroger Jr. Hospital

Mr. Jerome Rogich, University of Massachusetts

Ms. Maria Tobar, David Geffen SOM UCLA

EMRA EDDA Scholars

Thomas W. Engel, MD, Cook County Hospital

Rachel Gilmer, MD, Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency

Bruce Bryan Graham, MD, Case Western Reserve U./Metrohealth Med. Ctr./Cleveland Clinic EM

Thiago Halmer, MD, Baylor College of Medicine

Binoy Mistry, MD, Johns Hopkins University SOM


Rachel Rizal, MD, Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency

Greg Wallingford, UCLA-Olive View Emergency Medicine Residency

CORD Academic Assembly Scholars

Bradley Burmeister, MD, Medical College of Wisconsin

Holly Caretta-Weyer, MD, Oregon Health & Science University

Michael Gottlieb, MD, Cook County Hospital

Leadership & Advocacy Conference Scholars

Alecia Gende, MD, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics

Anthony Kraus, MD, Maricopa Medical Center

Rachel Solnick, MD, Yale Emergency Medicine


Health Policy Awards

EMRA/ACEP Medical Student Elective in Health Policy

Priyanka Kailash, Alpert Medical School of Brown University

Valerie Pierre, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill


Merit Awards

Global Health Initiative Award: Nadeem Modan, MD, University of North Carolina

Local Action Grant: Shaw Natsui, MD, Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency

Augustine D'Orta Award: Shehni Nadeem, MD, Baylor College of Medicine

Steve Tantama, MD, Award for Military Excellence: Travis Deaton, MD, Naval Medical Center San Diego

International EM Scholar: Benjamin Nicholson, MD, St. George's University SOM

Clinical Excellence Award: Residents of Orlando Regional Medical Center/Orlando Health

  • Christopher H. Ponder, MD

  • Thomas N. Smith, MD

  • Amanda M. Stone, MD

  • Amanda F. Tarkowski, MD

  • Tory Weatherford, MD

Be the Change Grant: Vincent Ted Liao, MD, Harvard Affiliated Emergency Medicine Residency

FOAM(er) of the Year: Sean Dyer, MD, John H. Stroger Jr. Hospital of Cook County

Leadership Excellence Award: Carrie Jurkiewicz, MD, University of Chicago EM Residency


Faculty Awards

Mentorship Award: Brian Adkins, MD, University of Kentucky Medical Center

Excellence in Teaching Award: Joseph S. Turner, MD, Indiana University SOM

Joseph F. Waeckerle Alumni Award: Kevin Michael Klauer, DO, FACEP, TeamHealth