Augustine D'Orta Humanism Award

Purpose of Award

This award honors a resident physician who demonstrates outstanding community-minded, grassroots oriented political involvement in health policy or community issues

Application Process

Submit a single letter of support, the nominee's CV, and application form


EMRA Resident member


Augustine D'Orta Foundation

Selection Criteria

Leadership and service in community health care



Application Deadline

August 31, 2023

Date of Inception


Apply Now

Past Recipients

2022 Vivian Tam, MD
2021 Larissa Unruh, MD, MPH
2020 Alicia Lu, MD
2020 Sheri-Ann Kaltiso, MD
2019 Kimberly Chernoby, MD
2018 Hannah Janeway, MD
2017 Ashley Alker, MD
2016 Shehni Nadeem, MD
2015 Dennis Hsieh, MD
2014 Brad Roberts, MD
2013 Candace Nall, MD
2012 Beth M Ranney, MD
2011 Vikant Gulati, MD
2010 Christine Ngaruiya, MD
2009 Ravneet Dhillon, MD
2008 Craig Schrantz, MD
2007 Satchit Balsari, MBBS, MPH
2006 Alwyn Andrew-Mziray, MD
2005 Benjamin Hudson, MD
2004 Jeremiah Schuur, MD
2003 Victor Pinkes, MD
2002 Francis M. Sullivan, MD
2001 Mary Jo Wagner, MD
2000 Vena Ricketts, MD
1999 Allen Smolenski, MD
1998 Kelly Abbrescia, DO
1997 James P. Locke, MD
1996 Lisa D. Hrutkay, DO
1995 Robert B. Bristow, MD
1994 Darryl J. Maclas, MD
1993 Louis M. Profeta, MD
1992 Larry L. Alexander, MD

Related Content

Dec 16, 2017

CORD Academic Assembly Travel Scholarship

Dec 16, 2017

EMRA / ACEP Resident Fellow Health Policy Elective in Washington, DC

Dec 16, 2017

International EM Rotation Scholarship