Medical Student Council


Each year, 25 students from across the country are selected to serve on EMRA's Medical Student Council (MSC).

This is a phenomenal opportunity to become more involved in the field of Emergency Medicine, network with students and faculty from coast to coast, and develop resources to assist fellow students navigate medical school and the residency application process.

Application Information & Position Descriptions

ACEP Student Representative to the AMA-MSS

Past Student Leaders

Medical Student Council Member of the Year Award

Our Goals & Objectives


  • Educate medical students about the specialty of emergency medicine and its importance in the medical field
  • Provide information to those students interested in emergency medicine regarding career options and emergency medicine training programs
  • Increase the quality and the quantity of medical school education on emergency medicine topics and clinical skills
  • Develop a peer network for medical students aspiring to careers in emergency medicine and allow them the opportunity to assume leadership roles in organized emergency medicine
  • Provide EMRA, ACEP, and SAEM with a resource for dissemination of materials and information to medical students
  • Encourage and recognize medical student research projects
  • Recognize clinical excellence in emergency medicine at the medical student level


  • Plan the annual Medical Student Forum and Residency Fair
  • Increase contact with medical schools
  • Increase medical student awareness/involvement in emergency medicine
  • Provide information that will appear on the medical student pages of the EMRA web site

2015-2016 EMRA Medical Student Council

Medical Student Governing Council
Chair Seth Kelly Texas A&M University Health Science Center 2017
Vice Chair      Quinton Campbell The Florida State University College of Medicine 2017
Editor Thomas Eales      Des Moines University 2017
Web/Tech Coordinator Linelle Campbell Howard University College of Medicine 2017
Osteopathic Coordinator Ross Christensen Des Moines University 2017
Midwest Coordinator Erin Karl University of Minnesota Medical School 2018
North East Coordinator Jonathan Meadows, MPH, CPH      Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine 2018
South East Coordinator Elena DiMiceli FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine 2017
West Coordinator Arielle Elizabeth King UT Southwestern Medical School 2017
Legislative Coordinator Patricia Yang University of Missouri Columbia 2017
Mentorship Coordinator Joshua Davis      Thomas Jefferson University 2017
ACEP Student Representatives to the AMA-MSS
AMA-MSS Representative Sean Ochsenbein Quillen College of Medicine 2017
AMA-MSS Representative Arnab Sarker University of Virginia 2018
Regional Representatives
Pacific Bryan Feinstein      University of Washington 2018
Great Plains Morgan Bobb University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine 2019
Great Lakes Teimojin Nicholas Tan Michigan State University 2018
Northeast 1 Vacant    Vacant  
Northeast 2 Chichen Qiu Drexel University College of Medicine 2018
Mid-Atlantic L. Michael Sachon Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine 2018
Southcentral Lauren Schuessler      University of Kansas School of Medicine 2018
Southwest Nicholas Salerno The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio 2017
Southeast 1 Rachel Nelson University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville 2017
Southeast 2 Sarah Ring University of Miami Miller School of Medicine 2019
International Joshua Sayers Ross University School of Medicine 2017


Click here to
send us feedback