Each year, 25 students from across the country are selected to serve on EMRA's Medical Student Council (MSC).

This is a phenomenal opportunity to become more involved in the field of Emergency Medicine, network with students and faculty from coast to coast, and develop resources to assist fellow students navigate medical school and the residency application process.

Our Goals and Objectives


  • Educate medical students about the specialty of emergency medicine and its importance in the medical field
  • Provide information to those students interested in emergency medicine regarding career options and emergency medicine training programs
  • Increase the quality and the quantity of medical school education on emergency medicine topics and clinical skills
  • Develop a peer network for medical students aspiring to careers in emergency medicine and allow them the opportunity to assume leadership roles in organized emergency medicine
  • Provide EMRA, ACEP, CORD, and SAEM with a resource for dissemination of materials and information to medical students
  • Encourage and recognize medical student research projects
  • Recognize clinical excellence in emergency medicine at the medical student level


  • Plan the annual Medical Student Forum and Residency Fair
  • Increase contact with medical schools
  • Increase medical student awareness/involvement in emergency medicine
  • Provide information that will appear on the medical student pages of the EMRA web site

2020-2021 Medical Student Council


Medical Student Governing Council
Jazmyn Shaw Chair

Jazmyn Shaw

University of Mississippi Medical Center Medical School

Alex Cook Vice Chair     

Alex Cook

University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Sam Southgate Editor

David Wilson

Sidney Kimmel Medical College
Thomas Jefferson University

Kenneth Kim Legislative Coordinator

Kenneth Kim

David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA

Lorena Rodriguez Perez Mentorship Coordinator

Lorena Rodriguez Perez

Nova Southeast University Health Science Osteopathic Medicine

Ryan Lucas Osteopathic Coordinator

Ryan Lucas

Rocky Vista University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Ashley Penington Student Advising Coordinator

Ashley Penington

Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences
College of Osteopathic Medicine

Spencer Rushton Web/Tech Coordinator

Spencer Rushton

Kansas City University Medical College of Osteopathic Medicine

Rich Dowd Midwest Coordinator

Rich Dowd

Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine

Katelynn Baska North East Coordinator

Katelynn Baska

Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine

Erron Fritchman South East Coordinator

Erron Fritchman

Arkansas College of Osteopathic Medicine 2021
Lenexa Morais West Coordinator

Lenexa Morais 

University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston, TX

ACEP Student Representatives to the AMA-MSS
Mathew Christensen AMA-MSS Representative

Matthew Christensen

Rosalind Franklin University - Chicago

Alysa Edwards AMA-MSS Representative

Alysa Edwards

University of Colorado School of Medicine

Regional Representatives
Katherine Rodman Pacific

Katherine Rodman

Oregon Health & Science University Medical School

Kellan Etter Great Plains

Kellan Etter

Des Moines University
College of Osteopathic Medicine

Chiamara Anokwute Great Lakes

Chiamara Anokwute

Indiana University School of Medicine

Brendan Miccio Northeast 1

Brendan Miccio

Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Alexander Gallaer Northeast 2

Alexander Gallaer

University of Connecticut School of Medicine

Alexa Van Besien Mid-Atlantic

Alexa Van Besien

University of Maryland

Christian Casteel Southcentral

Christian Casteel

Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences

Luke Wohlford Southwest

Luke Wohlford

University of Arizona College of Medicine - Phoenix

Alexa Peterson Southeast 1

Alexa Peterson

Nova Southeast University Health Science Osteopathic Medicine

Tori Ehrhardt Southeast 2

Tori Ehrhardt

Florida International University
Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Shelby Wood International

Shelby Wood

St. George’s University School of Medicine