Academic Excellence Award

Purpose of Award

Given to a resident or fellow who has done outstanding work in research or other academic pursuits.

Application Process 

Letter of recommendation, current curriculum vitae, and EMRA Awards Application form completed online.


EMRA Resident or Fellow member

Selection Criteria

Recognition by one's own institution for their academic excellence and publication within the medical literature.

Application Deadline 

January 10

Award Date

Spring Meeting 

Date of Inception


Apply Now

Past Recipients

2020 Samita Heslin, MD
2019 Hani I Kuttab, MD
2018 Ari Friedman, MD
2017 Justine Nagurney, MD
2016 Carl Berdahl, MD
2015 Matthew Stull, MD
2014 Nicholas Johnson, MD
2013 Laura Medford-Davis, MD
2012 Breena R. Taira, MD, MPH
2011 Stacey L. House, MD
2010 Jason Heiner, MD
2009 Jody Vogel, MD
2008 Jason Nomura, MD
2007 Adam J. Rosh, MD, MS
2006 Mini DeLaShaw, MD
2005 Mark Glenn Moseley, MD, MHA
2004 Benjamin S. Abella, MD
2003 H. Bryant Nguyen, MD
2002 John C. Southall, MD
2001 Latha G. Stead, MD
2000 Debra Houry, MD
1999 Romolo Gaspari, MD
1998 Christopher Lipinski, MD
1997 Michael Howard, MD
1996 Clifton Callaway, MD
1995 Michael L. Carl, MD
1994 Rachael L. Chin, MD
1993 David Magid, MD
1992 Charles V. Pollack, MD
1991 Daniel Debehnke, MD
1990 David C. Seaberg, MD
1989 Carl L. Cudnofsky, MD
1988 Donald M. Yealy, MD
1987 Jeffrey S. Jones, MD
1986 Scott A. Syverud, MD

Related Content

Dec 12, 2017

EMRA Resident of the Year Award

Dec 12, 2017

Rosh Review "One Step Further" Award

Given to a resident who exemplifies the ideals of continuous learning and self-improvement, who goes "one step further" to improve a weakness or accelerate a strength.

Dec 12, 2017

EMRA / ACEP ED Directors Academy (EDDA) Travel Scholarship