ACEP Scientific Review Subcommittee Appointment

Purpose of Award

Given to an individual who has demonstrated interest in an emergency medicine research career. This award provides for membership on ACEP's Scientific Review Subcommittee (SRS). The SRS reviews and scores the EMF grant applications, provides constructive written feedback on applications, helps develop new research ideas, and mentors young investigators.

Application Process

Submit letter of interest (max 250 words) detailing how you will benefit from being on the SRS and how you can contribute to the group, your research interests and planned career path, current curriculum vitae; letter of recommendation, and letter of support (time off granted by chair or program director).


EMRA Resident (in final 2 years of training) or Fellow member

Selection Criteria 

Applicants will be reviewed and evaluated based on potential impact of the recipient on emergency medicine research, strength of letter of support and prior commitment to research. Criteria will include desired interest and potential dedication to emergency medicine research, likeliness to continue meaningful research investigation in the future, and eagerness to learn more about grantsmanship.

Application Deadline

October 6, 2024


Attend ACEP's Scientific Review Subcommittee at ACEP's Headquarters in Irving,TX. The SRS takes place at the end of April or beginning of May, will have exact dates after ACEP's Scientific Assembly. Award winner will review, provide written critiques and score resident and medical student grant proposals while at ACEP Headquarters

Date of Inception




2023 Aslam Akhtar, MD, PhD
2023 Sophia Gorgens, MD
2022 Christopher Zalesky, MD
2020 Robert Allen, MD
2019 Tiffany Abramson, MD
2018 Cameron J Gettel, MD
Brown University
2017 Shih-Chuan Chou, MD
Yale - New Haven
2016 Patrick Olivieri, MD
Mount Sinai - St Lukes

Related Content

Dec 08, 2017

ACEP Scientific Review Subcommittee Appointment