Be The Change Project Grant

Purpose of Award

This is EMRA's largest award and is intended to empower you, as an EMRA member, to "dream big" for emergency medicine. The award will provide a large grant to a resident/medical student or group of residents/students to create and pursue a project designed to have a significant impact on emergency medicine education, research, practice, or policy.

While the EMRA grant criterion does not dictate limitations on indirect costs, the spirit of the award is for all (or almost all) of the funds to be used for research purposes. 

Disbursement of Award

Award recipient will be given $3,000 ($1,500 will be disbursed upon receipt of the award; $1,500 will be disbursed upon completion of the project as outlined in the project proposal). Note: if award funds are being used to purchase goods for the project or to facilitate the proposed project, an advance on the balance of award monies may be requested.

Application Process

Complete and submit the project proposal form, describing the project, its goals, budget, timeline, and its potential effects in detail. In addition, please include your curriculum vitae (for group submissions, only the group leader's CV should be attached) and a letter of support from a faculty member within your residency program or medical school.

Download the project proposal templatedoc 609.5 KB

Sample Project Proposal:

Project Safe Space


EMRA Student, Resident, and Fellow members

Selection Criteria

Grants will be judged on the quality, feasibility, and novelty of the project. We are looking for ideas that are ambitious, unique, and capable of improving emergency medicine practice

Note: If a suitable project proposal is not submitted during a given calendar year, this award will go unfilled for that year


$3000 total ($1500 up receipt of the award; $1500 upon completion)

Application Deadline

July 15

Award Date

Fall Meeting

Date of Inception

Fall 2013

Past Recipients

2020 Herman Lee, DO
2019 Timothy Henderson, MD
Gregory Peters
2018 Cindy Chang, MD
Kelsey Vargas, MD
Jennifer Noble, MD
Lauren Kava, MD
Yagnaram Ravichandran, MD
2017 Danika Evans, OMSIII
Natalie Terao, MD
Paul Ginart
2016 Carleigh Benton

Related Content

Dec 16, 2017

EMRA Simulation Research Grant

Dec 16, 2017

Be The Change Project Grant