Residency Director of the Year Award

Purpose of Award

This award recognizes a residency director who serves as a role model for residents and exemplifies those qualities residents value in a mentor. This individual goes above and beyond to support resident issues, well being, and involvement not only through emergency training but through fostering active participation in organized medicine, research, and community service.

Application Process

Two letters of recommendation (one from a faculty member and another individual of your choosing), and EMRA Awards Application form completed online


Emergency Medicine Residency Director with minimum of 3 years as residency director and must be director for at least 3 months of current academic year. Must be nominated by a resident.

Selection Criteria

Leadership and service

Application Deadline

October 6, 2024

Date of Inception



Past Recipients

2023 Tara Cassidy-Smith, MD
2023 Jesse Kellar, MD
2022 Arlene Chung, MD
2020 Jason Seamon, DO
2019 Charlotte Wills, MD
2018 Kaushal Shah, MD
2017 Jason Bothwell, MD, FACEP
2016 Linda Regan, MD, FACEP
2015 Jeffrey Manko, MD
2014 Mark Clark, MD
2013 Herbert Eugene Hern, MD, FACEP
2012 Allan B Wolfson, MD, FACEP
2011 Amal Mattu, MD, FACEP
2010 Mark Douglas Char, MD, FACEP
2009 Andrew Ulrich, MD, FACEP
2008 Michael Beeson, MD, MBA, FACEP
2007 Douglas R. Trocinski, MD, FACEP
2006 Robert Galli, MD
2005 Peter Sokolove, MD
2004 Terry Kowalenko, MD
2003 Francis Lee Counselman, MD, FACEP
2002 Lee Shockley, MD, FACEP
2001 John W. Becher, DO

Related Content

Apr 18, 2018

Congratulations to EMRA's 2018 Fall Awards Recipients

We are raving about our Fall 2018 awards recipients!

Dec 08, 2017

Associate Residency Director of the Year Award

Apr 18, 2018

EMRA Honors 2018 Spring Award Winners

Please join EMRA in congratulating our 2018 Spring Awards recipients.