Associate Residency Director of the Year Award

Purpose of Award

This award recognizes an assistant or associate residency director who serves as a role model for residents and exemplifies those qualities residents value in a mentor. This individual goes above and beyond to support resident issues, well being, and involvement not only through emergency training but through fostering active participation in organized medicine, research, and community service.

Application Process

Two letters of recommendation support (one from a faculty member and another individual of your choosing), and EMRA Awards Application form completed online


Assistant Residency Director with minimum of 1 year as Assistant Residency Director and must be Assistant Director for at least 3 months of current academic year. Must be nominated by a resident.

Selection Criteria

Leadership and service

Application Deadline

October 6, 2024

Date of Inception



Past Recipients

2023 Alexis Pelletier-Bui, MD
2023 Adedamola Ogunniyi, MD
2022 Cynthia Price, MD
2020 David Peak, MD
2019 Abra Fant, MD, FACEP
2018 Anne Messman, MD, FACEP
2017 Sameer Desai, MD
2016 Elize Lovell, MD, FACEP
2015 Tommy Wong, MD
2014 Charlottte Page Wills, MD
2013 Anand Swaminathan, MD, FACEP
2012 Christian Jacobus, MD, FACEP
2011 Britney Anderson, MD
2010 Albert B. Fiorello, MD, FACEP
2009 Susan Stroud, MD
2008 Thomas Nowicki, MD
2007 Daniel V. Girzadas Jr., MD
2006 Jeffrey Manko, MD
2004 Christopher Doty, MD
2003 Richard C. Chandler, MD, FACEP
2002 James L. Larson, Jr., MD
2001 Kenneth Butler, DO

Related Content

Apr 18, 2018

Congratulations to EMRA's 2018 Fall Awards Recipients

We are raving about our Fall 2018 awards recipients!

Dec 08, 2017

Associate Residency Director of the Year Award

Dec 16, 2017

Sherrill Mullenix Residency Coordinator of the Year