Search Icon

Authors, Editors, and Contributors


Krystle Shafer, MD
Director of ED Critical Care
Co-Director EM Medical Student Rotation
Critical Care Intensivist, OHICU and MSICU
Clinical Faculty, Department of Emergency Medicine
WellSpan York Hospital
York, PA


Program Director, Emergency Medicine Residency
Vice-Chair for Education
Department of Emergency Medicine
WellSpan York Hospital
York, PA


Daniel A. Sherman
Medical Student
St. George’s University School of Medicine 2015-19
Grenada, West Indies



EMRA Board of Directors 

Zach Jarou, MD | President
Omar Maniya, MD, MBA | President-Elect
Alicia Kurtz, MD | Immediate Past President
Tommy Eales, DO | Secretary/Editor, EM Resident
Scott Pasichow, MD, MPH | Speaker of the Council
Nathan Vafaie, MD, MBA | Vice-Speaker of the Council
Nida F. Degesys, MD | Resident Representative to ACEP
Sara Paradise, MD | Director of Education
Rachel Solnick, MD | Director of Health Policy
Shehni Nadeem, MD | Director of Membership
Nick Salerno, MD | Director of Technology
Eric McDonald, MD | ACGME RC-EM Liaison
Geoff Comp, DO, FAWM | Ex-Officio Board Member
Sarah Ring | Medical Student Council Chair

EMRA Staff

Cathey B. Wise, CAE | Executive Director
Leah Stefanini, CRM | Conference and Event Manager
Valerie Hunt | Managing Editor
Sherri Lewis | Marketing and Special Events Manager
James Bryant | Project Manager
April Applewhite | Project Coordinator
Todd Downing | Web Product Manager
Alex Nunnery | Communications Coordinator


Copyright 2018
Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association
4950 W. Royal Lane | Irving, TX 75063
972.550.0920 |
All rights reserved. This book is protected by copyright.
No part of this book may be reproduced in any form
or by any means without written permission from the
copyright owner.


This handbook is intended as a general guide only. While the editors have taken reasonable measures to ensure the accuracy of all information presented herein, the user is encouraged to consult other resources when necessary. The publisher, authors, editors, and sponsoring organizations specifically disclaim any liability for omissions or errors found in this handbook or for appropriate use.  Further, although this handbook is as comprehensive as possible, the vast and fast-changing differences in fellowships require the reader to consult up-to-the-minute information on each fellowship program website.

EMRA Review

Sara Paradise, MD
EMRA Board Director of Education
Fellow, Multimedia Design Education Technology
Department of Emergency Medicine
University of California-Irvine

Deena Khamees, MD
EMRA Education Committee Chair
Chief Resident, Emergency Medicine
Baylor College of Medicine

Thomas Yang, MD
EMRA Education Committee Chair-Elect
Academic Chief Resident, Emergency Medicine
Fellow, MDCalc
EMRA Representative
Aventura Hospital and Medical Center
FIU Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Erin Karl, MD
EMRA Education Committee Vice Chair of Medical
Student Education
PGY-1, Emergency Medicine
University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department
of Emergency Medicine

Anthony DeVivo, DO
EMRA Education Committee Vice Chair of Resident
Chief Resident, Emergency Medicine
Mount Sinai St. Luke’s-West

Mengyang Liu, MD
EMRA Education Committee Vice Chair of Resident
Chief Resident, Emergency Medicine, Chief Resident
Baylor College of Medicine

Jonathan Brewer, MSIV
Southwest Regional Rep., EMRA Medical Student
Board Member, Texas College of Emergency Physicians
Texas A&M College of Medicine

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter