Search Icon



Krystle Shafer, MD
Director of ED Critical Care
Co-Director EM Medical Student Rotation
Critical Care Intensivist, OHICU and MSICU
Clinical Faculty, Department of Emergency Medicine
WellSpan York Hospital
York, PA

EMRA Board of Directors 

Jessica Adkins Murphy, MD | President
Blake Denley, MD | President-Elect
Angela Cai, MD, MBA | Immediate Past President
Thuy Nguyen, MD | Secretary/Editor, EM Resident
Amanda Irish, MD, MPH | Speaker of the Council
Michaela Banks, MD | Vice-Speaker of the Council
Aaron R. Kuzel, DO, MBA | Resident Representative to ACEP
Erin Karl, MD | Director of Education
Kenneth Kim, MD | Director of Health Policy
Derek Martinez, DO | Director of Leadership Development
Kimberly Herard, MD | Member-at-Large
Angela Wu, MD, MPH | EMRA Rep to the AMA
Revelle Gappy | Medical Student Council Chair

EMRA Staff

Kris Williams, CAE | Executive Director
Heather Deja | Senior Operations Manager
Valerie Hunt | Managing Editor
Nisha Lunia | Associate Editor
Sandra Meekins | Marketing and Communications Manager
Hannah Simon | Committee and Engagement Manager
Josh Lindsay | Web Product Manager
Candice Cooley
 | Membership and Operations Coordinator
Leah Stefanini, CRM | Conference and Event Manager


Copyright 2023
Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association
4950 W. Royal Lane | Irving, TX 75063
972.550.0920 |
All rights reserved. This book is protected by copyright.
No part of this book may be reproduced in any form
or by any means without written permission from the
copyright owner.


This handbook is intended as a general guide only. While the editors have taken reasonable measures to ensure the accuracy of all information presented herein, the user is encouraged to consult other resources when necessary. The publisher, authors, editors, and sponsoring organizations specifically disclaim any liability for omissions or errors found in this handbook or for appropriate use.  Further, although this handbook is as comprehensive as possible, the vast and fast-changing differences in fellowships require the reader to consult up-to-the-minute information on each fellowship program website.

Previous Chapter
Next Chapter