EMRA Chair of the Year Award

Purpose of Award

This award recognizes an emergency medicine department chair who innovates the ED and supports innovation in residency training. This individual goes above and beyond to mentor emergency medicine residents, to support their interests and to foster active participation in organized medicine, research and community service.

Application Process

Two letters of recommendation (one from a resident member and one from a faculty member) and completion of the EMRA awards application.


Emergency medicine department chair with 3+ years preferred as a department chair. Must be nominated by a resident EMRA member.

Selection Criteria

Innovation, leadership and service



Application Deadline

October 6, 2024

Date of Inception



Past Recipients

2023 Michael Chansky, MD
2023 Lisa Clayton, DO
2022 Brendan Carr, MD
2021 Bo Burns, DO
2020 Angela Mills, MD

Related Content

Apr 18, 2018

Congratulations to EMRA's 2018 Fall Awards Recipients

We are raving about our Fall 2018 awards recipients!

Dec 16, 2017

Faculty Teaching Excellence Award

Dec 16, 2017

Joseph F Waeckerle, MD, FACEP - Alumni of the Year Award