20 in 6 Resident Lecture Competition

Supported By:

The EMRA 20 in 6 Resident Lecture Competition occurs at ACEP’s Scientific Assembly every year and is hosted by residents, for residents. We seek out the best resident speakers in the country and each year, they compete for the title “Best Resident Lecturer.” Residents are given up to six minutes and exactly 20 slides to lecture on any topic that is relevant to emergency medicine. It’s designed to be a fast-paced, intellectually-stimulating event in a fun, EMRA-style atmosphere.

Tuesday, October 29, 2019 : 1PM - 3PM

Denver Embassy Suites : Crystal B/C, 3rd Floor

ACEP19 - Denver, CO

2019 20 in 6 Resident Lecturers

  • Madeline Brockberg, MD, Boston Medical Center
  • Janina Gregorski, MD, Carl R Darnall Army Medical Center
  • Reid Haflich, MD, Denver Health
  • Austin Lee, MD, MPH, UVA
  • James Mattson, MD, New York Presbyterian
  • Mary McLean, MD, St. Johns-Riverside
  • Tim Montrief, MD, Jackson Memorial Hospital
  • Landon Mueller, MD, VCU
  • Janel Paukovits, MD, University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center/Case Western
  • Joshua Ring, MD, Duke
  • Elizabeth Rubin, MD, Mount Sinai, Miami Beach
  • Monica Sethi,MD, Mount Sinai, NY
  • Ryan Tsuchida, MD, University of Michigan-St. Joe’s
  • Aadil Vora, DO, Emory
  • Bassam Zahid, MD, Stony Brook

2019 Judges

We recruit the best of the best lecturers and teachers in the specialty to judge this competition.

Jenny Beck-Esmay, MD
Emergency Medicine Physician and Assistant Residency Director
Mt. Sinai St. Luke’s-Mt. Sinai West in New York City

Mizuho Morrison, DO 
Assistant professor of Emergency Medicine
Los Angeles County and USC Medical Center
Keck School of Medicine of USC

Rob Orman, MD
Attending Emergency Physician 
Valley View Hospital in Glenwood Springs, CO
St. Charles Medical Center in Bend, OR
Santiam Hospital in Stayton, OR

Jon Smart, MD
Fellow - UC Irvine

2018 Winners

  • First Place:  Jon Smart, MD - UT Health San Antonio; "Right Heart on Fire - Pulmonary Hypertension"
  • Second Place:  Katie Lupez, MD - Carolinas Medical School; "Human Jetpacks"
  • Third Place:  Carolyn Comissaris, MD - University of Michigan; "You're not dead until you are cold and dead:  Management of Cardiac Arrest due to Hypothermia"


View All 2018 Competitor Presentations

Left to right:  Rob Orman, MD; Mizuho Spangler, DO; Jon Smart, MD; Allen Chang, MD; Michael Gisondi, MD

2018 Competitors

Congratulations to the 2018 speakers who will be competing for the title “Best Resident Lecturer.” 

  • Neel Andharia, DO. PGY-2,
    Staten Island University Hospital, Staten Island, NY
  • Darian Arman, MD. PGY-2,
    Mount Sinai St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital, New York, NY
  • Aaron Blackshaw, MD. PGY-3,
    University of Virginia Hospital, Charlottesville, VA
  • Sophia Bodnar, DO. PGY-3,
    University of Illinois in Chicago, Chicago, IL
  • Carolyn Commissaris, MD. PGY-3,
    University of Michigan Hospital, Ann Arbor, MI
  • Andrew D’Alessandro, MD. PGY-2,
    Vanderbilt University Hospital, Nashville, TN
  • Kathryn Fisher, MD. PGY-3,
    McGovern Emergency Medicine, Houston, TX
  • Matthew Gangidine, MD. PGY-2,
    Wright State University Hospital, Dayton, OH
  • David Kaltman, MD. PGY-3,
    Northwesten University Hospital, Chicago, IL
  • Katie Lupez, MD. PGY-3,
    Carolinas Medical Center, Charlotte, NC
  • Isabel Malone, MD. PGY-3,
    Emory University Hospital, Atlanta, GA
  • Jillian Nickerson, MD. PGY-4,
    Mount Sinai Hospital, New York, NY
  • Manavjeet Sidhu, MD. PGY-3,
    UCSF-Fresno Hospital, Fresno, CA
  • Jon Smart, MD. PGY-3,
    University of Texas Health San Antonio Hospital, San Antonio, TX
  • Emily Wheelis, MD. PGY-3 EM/IM,
    University of Illinois in Chicago, Chicago, IL

About the Competition

Want to know more about the competition at ACEP?

Are you ready to compete?

Check out "How to Rock EMRA's 20 in 6 Presentation"

Scoring system

How is the 20 in 6 presentation judged?

2018 Competition Videos 

Check out the winners and competitors at ACEP18

Watch the competitor presentations

2017 Competition Videos 

Check out the winners and competitors at ACEP17

Watch the competitor presentations

2016 Competition Videos 

Check out the winners and competitors at ACEP16

Watch the competitor presentations