Megan L. Ranney, MD, MPH, FACEP

Megan Ranney, MD, MPH, FACEP (@meganranney) is an associate professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at Alpert Medical School of Brown University and founding director of the Brown Emergency Digital Health Innovation program ( Dr. Ranney’s career focus is on developing, testing, and disseminating digital health interventions to reduce risk of violence and mental illness. She currently has 9 active federally funded grants and over 100 peer-reviewed publications. She holds numerous national positions, including serving as an elected member of the board of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine, chair of her Governor’s Working Group for Gun Safety, and editor for Annals of Emergency Medicine.

Dr. Ranney is also Chief Research Officer of AFFIRM (, the country’s only non-profit committed to ending the gun violence epidemic through a public health approach. She has received numerous awards for technology innovation, public health, and research, including Rhode Island Woman Physician of the Year and the American College of Emergency Physicians’ Policy Pioneer Award and Spokesperson of the Year Award. She is a Fellow of the fifth class of the Health Innovators Fellowship Program and a member of the Aspen Global Leadership Network. She earned her bachelor’s degree in History of Science, graduating summa cum laude, from Harvard University; her medical doctorate, graduating Alpha Omega Alpha, from Columbia University; and her master's in public health from Brown University. She was previously a Peace Corps Volunteer in Cote d'Ivoire.

She lives in Rhode Island with her husband and two children.


Over 400 applications were reviewed by the selection committee, comprised of Steven J. Stack, MD, MBA, FACEP, Zach Jarou, MD, Omar Z. Maniya, MD, MBA, Hannah Hughes, MD, MBA, Ven Subramanyam, MD, Erin Karl, MD, and Jazmyn Shaw.

The selection committee was blinded to EMRA and/or ACEP membership status. Care was taken to ensure both a diverse applicant pool and awardee group. For any questions, contact Cathey Wise at

Related Content

Aug 29, 2019

EMRA’s 45 Under 45: Influencers of EM

Congratulations to the 2019 45 Under 45 Award recipients recognized as emergency physicians or physicians-in-training 45 years old or younger for their contributions to the specialty and to the community. #EMRA45u45 #EMRAFamily

Aug 30, 2019

Alin Gragossian, DO, MPH

Resiliency has a face: In less than 12 months, Alin Gragossian went from being a busy resident planning for a critical care fellowship to being a heart transplant recipient. Then, mere days before resuming “life after transplant” with a return to shifts, her residency program at Hahnemann University Hospital disintegrated

Aug 30, 2019

Alison Haddock, MD, FACEP

ACEP Board member Alison Haddock has been a health policy enthusiast since her days as an EMRA Board member, and she’s instilling the same regard in her students and residents at Baylor College of Medicine.